No matter how good we are at resisting temptation we will always need God’s help

Philippians 3:12 (AMP) 12 Not that I have now attained [this ideal], or have already been made perfect, but I press on to lay hold of (grasp) and make my own, that for which Christ Jesus (the Messiah) has laid hold of me and made me His own  

When Jesus was tempted to not go to the cross and fulfill the will of God, I’m pretty sure it was not easy for him to obey the will of God with what he had to face. We know we will be tempted every day but we have to have that same belief in God that we can resist the temptation and that if we sin and fall that God will forgive us. We have to be determined to do what is right. We do what is right because we love God, not as some law that we must follow. When we love God for the right reason, great things will start to happen in life.

Romans 8:13-14 (AMP) 13 For if you live according to [the dictates of] the flesh, you will surely die. But if through the power of the [Holy] Spirit you are [habitually] putting to death (making extinct, deadening) the [evil] deeds prompted by the body, you shall [really and genuinely] live forever. 14 For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. 

We are the home of God and He lives deep in our heart. That spirit deep inside of us doesn’t want to sin, but of course our fleshly self wants to do what is easy for the flesh rather than what we know might be right but a little bit more difficult for us to do. Just because we don’t feel like doing what we know is right it doesn’t mean we shouldn’t do it. We have to take action to make good decisions for our life. No matter how good we are at resisting temptation we will always need God’s help. We are foolish to think that we do not need His help. 

1 Peter 5:8-9 (AMP) Be well balanced (temperate, sober of mind), be vigilant and cautious at all times; for that enemy of yours, the devil, roams around like a lion roaring [[a]in fierce hunger], seeking someone to seize upon and devour.Withstand him; be firm in faith [against his onset—rooted, established, strong, immovable, and determined], knowing that the same ([b]identical) sufferings are appointed to your brotherhood (the whole body of Christians) throughout the world. 

The minute we feel temptation is when we start praying about it – in fact we should pray about it before it even comes. Willpower alone may not be enough for us to make right decisions – we may need a little bit of grace from God. God will give us the ability to resist temptations and overcome sin. We do not have to live with sadness and addictions in life. We can have a better life, but it will take willpower and grace together. We have to be determined to take hold of what Jesus died for us to have. We can do all things in Christ who gives us strength.

We love keeping our excuses of why we choose not to do something. Anything God tells us to do something, He gives us the power to do it. We don’t realize we have that power until we step out in faith and do the thing He is leading us to do. Sometimes God has to give us a little prompting to do the right thing. When we get hungry enough for that right thing, we will do it.

Matthew 5:6 (AMP) Blessed and fortunate and happy and [a]spiritually prosperous (in that state in which the born-again child of God [b]enjoys His favor and salvation) are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness (uprightness and right standing with God), for they shall be [c]completely satisfied! 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

