When we are weak, God shows us His strength

2 Corinthians 12:7-9 (AMP)
7 And to keep me from being puffed up
and too much elated by the exceeding greatness (preeminence) of these revelations, there was given me a thorn (a splinter) in the flesh, a messenger of Satan, to rack and buffet and harass me, to keep me from being excessively exalted.
8 Three times I called upon the Lord
and besought [Him] about this and begged that it might depart from me;
9 But He said to me, My grace (My favor and loving-kindness and mercy) is enough for you [sufficient against any danger and enables you to bear the trouble manfully]; for
My strength and power are made perfect (fulfilled and completed) and show themselves most effective in [your] weakness. Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weaknesses and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ (the Messiah) may rest (yes, may pitch a tent over and dwell) upon me!

There may be some situations we wish God would get us out of, but God may find us more valuable in the situation we are in rather than releasing us from it.  God’s strength is greatest in our weakness.  When we are weak, we need God.  When we are rescued from our situation then we know it is God and not us getting us through our situation.

Pride is about an independent attitude and thinking we do not need anyone, including God.  God is not trying to hurt us, but He will bless us even more than we are blessed after we decide to humble ourselves.

If you are tired of rebuking the Devil every day, maybe it’s time to realize all the problems in your life are not of the Devil, it’s God teaching us how to grow up and be satisfied with life no matter what our circumstances are.

Job 10:16 (AMP) 

16 If I lift myself up, You hunt me like a lion and again show Yourself [inflicting] marvelous [trials] upon me.

Job 33:16-17 (AMP)
16 Then He opens the ears of men and seals their instruction [terrifying them with warnings],
17 That He may withdraw man from his purpose and cut off pride from him [disgusting him with his own disappointing self-sufficiency]. 

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When we are weak, God shows us His strength

  1. BEautifUl smile, Lisa. I appreciate your blog and your thoughts on humility and trust. This post resonates with my own on God’s showing Himself mighty to save in our helplessness. I’d be honored if you’d take a look…..some thoughts on suffering:

    https://aholisticjourney.wordpress.com/2013/05/15/faith-and-suffering/

Leave a Reply

