Healing is not something somebody can do for you – you can do this.

John 5:1-6 (AMP)  1 LATER ON there was a Jewish festival (feast) for which Jesus went up to Jerusalem.  2 Now there is in Jerusalem a pool near the Sheep Gate. This pool in the Hebrew is called Bethesda, having five porches (alcoves, colonnades, doorways).
3 In these lay a great number of sick folk—some blind, some crippled, and some paralyzed (shriveled up)—
waiting for the bubbling up of the water.  4 For an angel of the Lord went down at appointed seasons into the pool and moved and stirred up the water; whoever then first, after the stirring up of the water, stepped in was cured of whatever disease with which he was afflicted.  5 There was a certain man there who had suffered with a deep-seated and lingering disorder for thirty-eight years.  6 When Jesus noticed him lying there [helpless], knowing that he had already been a long time in that condition, He said to him, Do you want to become well? [Are you really in earnest about getting well?]

When we get hurt it is easy to get stuck in hurt because it can be very painful.  Some of us barely feel like going on when someone hurt us super bad in life.  Healing is a process.  If you want to get healed from the hurt you can get healed but you must understand it will be a process.  A lot of times people give up in the process of healing.

The first thing we need to do is decide we are going to get well no matter how long it takes us.  With God’s help we can get over the hurt and emotional pain.  Healing is not something somebody can will you to do.  You have to go through the healing process yourself.

Secondly, we have to stop feeling sorry for ourselves. It’s time to get up off of the pity pot.  Self-pity can be idolatry.  We are putting ourselves above others when we think “why me”.  Self-pity can be devastating to your life and once you get there, you will need to work to dig yourself out of that way of thinking.  Do not waste another day feeling sorry for you.  Instead of looking at what you do not have, look at what you do have.  No matter what you have gone through, I am sure somebody else has endured something much worse.  You are going to heaven and God forgives you for your sins and that is something to be happy about.

In John 5:1-6 there was a man laying by this pool for 38 years – he was stuck.  Jesus asked this man if he really wanted to get well.  That might be what Jesus is asking us.  Do we really want to get well or do you want to be stuck in your hurt?  We may need to get a new attitude to get well.  We cannot do anything about the fact we were hurt, but we can learn from it, stop complaining and feeling sorry for ourselves, then move forward in life.  If we are wounded we do not have to spend the rest of our life bleeding.  We can get healed from that hurt but we have to want to let go of the hurt and the past in order to heal.

Kids seem to get over their hurt quickly, but the older we get the easier it is for us to get stuck in our hurt and pain.  But we must choose not to get stuck in our misery and pain and move on.

Jesus died so we can have a life – not just breath but have a life that we enjoy.  We can enjoy every step of our journey life if we choose to.  The Devil hates it when we are enjoying life.  A lot of things are painful in life, but God is good.  You are not the only one in life who has had a loss in life.

If anyone can recover it can be you!

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

 

 

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Healing is not something somebody can do for you – you can do this.

Leave a Reply

